Current events  
 Religion 
 Technology 
 Countries 
 Politics 
 Society 
 Other 

There are currently no top
rated posts : don't forget you can "thumb" up or down posts.

Website intro. Please login or register (it's very fast and free).

• Index
  • » Techology - Room 1
  • » Working in major cities, !! by anthony77
  •    

Hey all. Not sure if this is the right place for this but since early last year I've been wanting to move to a major city in Australia (or even abroad) to work in tech/Web dev. Can anyone in this subreddit explain to me the process of how they got a job there and / or the process of moving to a city to work in tech / Web dev.

My greatest fear is that I'll be stuck in my home town forever which will limit my opportunities and career growth.

I'm currently a junior developer with 12 months experience and feel as if my current company is limiting my growth and practicing bad habits. I do not want to be maintaining legacy-spaghetti-code forever lmao

Some resources I've been using to prepare:

leet code

cracking the coding interview

freecodecamp

Edit

#1 2019-04-10 13:28:50

Germany    Asylum

Re: Working in major cities, !!

I think it depends on what industry you're planning to work in. I'm a teacher so I joined several agencies before I went to England and they sent me job postings. When I was interested in one, they'd send my CV on and set up an interview. Because of that, I had a full time job before I even arrived in the UK.

With Australia I also had an agency, but it worked differently and most of it was done on the ground. I arrived in Australia and then proceeded to look for jobs.

#2 2019-04-04 11:15:08

United Kingdom    anthony77

Working in major cities, !!